Patch 3.0.9 and your Rogue

Edit:  I’ve done the tests, and the results are in, it’s a buff, read more here

Apparently there’s some more balancing to be done before 3.1.  Coming sometime this week (according to mmo-champion.com), will be patch 3.0.9.  The Rogue section looks like this:

  • Hunger for Blood (Assassination):  Now increases damage 5% per stack, (up from 3%.)
  • Mind Numbing Poison  now reduces cast time by 30% down from 60%.
  • Mutilate damage will now do 20% increased damage against poisoned targets, down from 50%.
  • Slice and Dice: this ability now increases melee attack speed by 40%, up from 30%

I can’t decide whether this is slight buff or nerf for PvE DPS.  It’s definitely a nerf for PvP, there’s no question about that.  Assuming this isn’t being applied sometime today, I’ll be able to get some pre-patch numbers on a target dummy, and compare those to some post patch numbers.

Here’s my concern:  I don’t know whether the boost in Slice and Dice, which would affect White DPS only, and the buff to Hunger for Blood, will compensate for the drop in Mutilate Damage.  I think that it will and more, but I’ll need to test it first.  Look for that information tomorrow.

– Sam

Leave a comment