The Longest of Resurrection Timers

Well, it sure has been quite a while.  Three and a half years ago, I thought that I would be able to spend more time playing World of Warcraft, but alas, that was not the case.  I didn’t really have the time, raiding was not going well and worst of all our server had become very imbalanced (10:1). My guild transferred servers, and in that process I was replaced as guild leader.  The latter was understandable, but hurt nonetheless.  I played sparingly from that point forward and eventually quit the game by the fall.

I completely distanced myself from the game, including any thoughts of blogging.  For that, I humbly apologize to any who might read this, and even those that don’t.  It never sat well with me that I just gave up the blogging, but I didn’t really want to face the fact that I had quit something that had been such an important part of my life for several years.

As far as the people I played with were concerned, I still hung out in Ventrilo, and I know several of my guildies in real life, so saying I stayed in touch was an understatement. I managed to get my games fix from my consoles and the occasional PC Game.  I gave Star Wars: The Old Republic a try when it released and enjoyed it for a few months, but it never stuck with me the way WoW always did.  The only game that I really spent a good deal of time playing in the last few years was Minecraft.  I personally enjoy building things, and the game resonated with me on a level that no other game had since WoW.  I was able to host servers and play with several of my old WoW friends, and that I think is what kept me playing it so long.

I’m not sure why, but at some point last October, I decided to reactivate my account and give Mists a try.  Blizzard had graciously decided to give everyone an upgrade if they hadn’t already bought it; so I thought, why not try out Pandaland for a month and see how I felt?  I rolled a Pandaren Monk named Samtime, and began to level.  Less than 10 hours later, and after realizing that leveling / playing WoW in general is basically akin to riding a bike, and I was hooked anew.  By the end of my 1 month time card, I had subscribed again and was very excited for Warlords.

So, I’ve been slowly mulling over the decision to reinvest some time and energy into blogging again, and I decided that I’ll give that a go.  I have some work to do cleaning up some of the spam that has accumulated over the years, and some other housecleaning duties.  As soon as that’s done, I plan to post about my return to the game in more detail and my thoughts on WoD in general.  Until then, it’s good to be back and you will hear more from me soon.

-Sam

5 Responses to The Longest of Resurrection Timers

  1. repgrind says:

    Welcome back! 🙂

  2. Rohan says:

    Welcome back! This is why I keep all these old blogs on my blogroll. Hope springs eternal that they will return.

    • samueltempus says:

      Thanks Rohan; I’ve read your last few posts about hearthstone and enjoyed them thoroughly. I’ve played Magic in its physical form almost since the beginning, though I haven’t played much recently. I’ll probably throw my two cents in when I get a minute later today.

  3. Adam says:

    Well what a pleasant surprise. So glad to see you back again.

  4. Beme says:

    wow, was going trough some old favorites and came here to see if had come back yet or not. Nice to see you back!!! Warlords is a lot of fun!

Leave a Reply

