4.0 First Impressions

The server was up soon enough for me to work on some of my goals, but not much else.  I didn’t have time to run any instances or raids and really test anything out properly.  I did, however, get my talents put in and get a general feel for some of the changes.

  1. I love the change to the combat point system.  If you haven’t tried this out yet, you can use the combo points that used to be wasted when a mob dies on Slice and Dice or our new heal, Recuperate.  You don’t even have to target the old mob to do it either.
  2. Speaking of Recuperate, it’s a great ability for those of us soloing things and working on pre-wrath achieves.  I couldn’t solo all the heroics before the patch because I lacked the heals to get past certain situations.  That’s not an issue any longer.  For my soloing / leveling spec, Recuperate heals 5% of my health ever 3 seconds, or 50% every 30 seconds.
  3. I’m still figuring out the nuances of the revamped Assassination play style.  My most basic advice would be to get Slice and Dice active, keep Rupture up and Envenom for 4+ combo points otherwise.
  4. Expose Armor is now something a Rogue can keep up with less effort if they are Assassination.  All combo points spent will be refreshed if you spec 2/2 Improved Expose Armor
  5. Someone mentioned in vent at least once every 5 minutes that the “water looks amazing.”  I concur.
  6. I was pulling about 7k dps unbuffed on a combat dummy in Ironforge without having an optimal spec or rotation.  I think with some tweaking, I’ll be looking at 2-3k increased damage across the board.  What that translates to at level 85 is anyone’s guess

I’m not quite ready to write a guide yet, and even Elitist Jerks isn’t quite sure what the “best” specs are yet.  I will, however, share with you the two that I’m currently trying.  Again, these aren’t perfect, and I’ll probably tweak them some, but in my opinion, they’re good starting points for now.

Well, that pretty much covers anything that I’ve actually had time to look at.  I won’t get much opportunity to play tonight, but the guild wants to try a raid on Thursday so I should have more information then.  If there’s anything that you’re particularly interested in knowing about, let me know in the comments section, and I’ll have a look when I can.

– Sam

10 Responses to 4.0 First Impressions

  1. PingHansen says:

    I love the thought of using the surplus combo points on a heal. I get quite a few of those in instances.

  2. Locamotive says:

    Do you happen to know anything about the Sub spec? I have been told that it is useful again in 4.0. I know you haven’t had a lot of time to play around with it. Just wondering if you have heard anything through the grape vine. If you have heard good things like I have I would love to get your input on the spec for soloing and running roics.

    Keep the outstanding info coming my friend.

  3. For the Pie says:

    I finally got the patch downloaded and got into game tonight. Jumped in a bg (wsg) to test out my supposed OP Lockness…only to hear about how really OP Rogues were.

    I’d been running as a sub rogue mostly doing BGs, but with the new 100g dual spec I may go with a PvP spec and something that works a little better for doing dungeons.

    I eagerly await your thoughts.

  4. Vulpina says:

    Do you have any idea if rupture is the priority, or if envenom is? I was trying to keep them both up 100% and it was impossible, but I didn’t know which one is more important to keep from falling off.

    Also, backstab after 35%? I heard that too, but I haven’t touched the backstab button in years! (I’m sure only if you talent for it.)

  5. samueltempus says:

    Most definitely keep Rupture up. Envenom is important, but with the talents set up the way they are (specifically the talent Venomous Wounds), it’s far more important to keep Rupture up. In fact, with the talent designed the way it is, it a good idea to use rupture even if it won’t fully tick before the mob dies, as you’ll get energy back for the time that rupture had remaining.

    – Sam

  6. tyson says:

    your links to wowtal dont seem to be working?

  7. samueltempus says:

    I’m sorry they’re not working for you Tyson. I just tested both links, and they’re working fine on this computer. I’ll double check at home just in case though.

    – Sam

  8. Mahkno says:

    Yeah links are dead for me too.

    I am curious how you reforged, particularly for those items that already have haste. Would you go for white hit or mastery?

  9. samueltempus says:

    Links were dead at home. At least on my computer, they’re working now.

    update: Not working at work now. I’ll find a different talent calculator to use.

    update II: used the wow armory, links working now.

    – Sam

  10. I’ve been working lowbie loremaster quests and haven’t had the chance to try the new abilities on something my own size, but I suspect Recup is gonna be OP for sub rogues. With Premeditation, I can add two points to any mob I want, and Recup doesn’t break stealth. I could theoretically get beat down to almost nothing and then vanish, Premeditate, recup, and repeat every twenty seconds when premed is off cooldown until I’m back up to full health without ever leaving stealth to bandage or eat. I don’t know how long that would take, though.

Leave a Reply

