The Muse Beckons

Recently, Windsoar’s blog, Jaded Alt, reached its 6th month of existence.  In honor of that achievement, she offered up her services as a muse to anyone who asked for it in the comments section of the post.  I was a few days later to the party than most, but when I asked the muse what  a pint-sized Rogue could write for her.  With a  /muse and a wave of her wand, here’s what she wanted:

You’ve been slicing and dicing your way across Azeroth for many a year. While I know that you’ve changed your spec with changing buffs, nerfs, and weapon changes: What is your favorite spec (old or current)? If you got to pick directly from the weapon rack, what would be your weapon of choice?

You know, it’s kinda weird to think about myself “slicing and dicing across Azeroth for many a year.”  I didn’t play in Vanilla.  I actually started playing during Burning Crusade, during the release of Tier 5.  But of course, back then I’m was a complete noob and didn’t have a clue what Tier meant or what TK and SSC really were.  I was simply a low-level Rogue, leveling as fast as I could to play with my younger brother, whose main was a Gnome Rogue as his main since Vanilla.

A lot has changed since then.  I’ve seen every boss in this expansion, save Algalon, and as soon as we kill Arthas, we might have to go work on that, too.  This summer will be my 4th playing WoW.  I haven’t really thought much about it, but I have been playing WoW for a long time now.  Samueltempus- Mug’thol has quite a bit of time logged, and as I’m sure most of you are aware, the other alts have some serious time clocked too.  But I digress and need to address the questions my muse asked of me.

What is your favorite spec (old or current)?

It really depends on what I’m doing.  Currently, I’m spending a lot of time leveling Samueltempus-Argent Dawn, and I’m absolutely in love with the flexibility that Subtlety brings to the table.  I remember leveling Combat, and trying to play like a warrior (remember the noob days I mentioned?) with much less success.  As a Sub Rogue, I play more of the silent assassin that I love from the class lore and decimate entire camps of mobs systematically.  With careful pulling, I am often able to make it through the whole area never having to fight more than two things at a time, and they die very fast.

Endgame is a different story.  I love playing Assassination, but I’d be lying if I said that its current version is my favorite.  To be totally honest, I really enjoyed playing it at the beginning of Wrath when Rupture was needed, and Hunger for Blood had 3 stacks.  The spec was much harder to play back then, but I liked the challenge.  These days, the only bleed I’m applying is Garrote at the beginning for an instant Hunger for Blood.  Other people are providing my bleeds during the fight, so it’s really a matter of Envenoming the target to death, while occasionally re-applying HFB and using Tricks of the Trade when its up. 

Sure the DPS is great, but there’s no real challenge, and I feel like I could do it in my sleep on non-movement fights.  In a related story, that’s why I’m playing my newly 80 Enhancement Shaman in Heroics a lot, as the rotation is a lot more involved.  Fear not readers, I’m never benching Sam, just being the altaholic that we all know I am.

For Arenas, I’ve been out of the game for a while, but I’m a fan of Mut/Prep.  That being said, I’m really excited to try out the revamped 3.3.3 Subtlety and see what I can do with it.  Battlegrounds are all Combat for me though, and that brings me to story time.

Once upon a yesteryear, when Warsong gulch matches could go on indefinitely, I was a Combat Rogue in a tie game that had been going on forever.  Both teams possessed the other’s flag in their flag room, and the game was in perpetual stalemate.  I steathed over to the horde side, and jumped out of nowhere with Blade Flurry and Killing Spree popped on their flag carrier, a Warlock.  Strangely enough, all of his teammates were not hiding in the recessed part of their room with him, so all of the damage went to him.  That poor guy dropped like a rock, I sent the flag back and 5 seconds later, it was over.  I didn’t live through the experience, but hey, we won.

If you got to pick directly from the weapon rack, what would be your weapon of choice?

There are many ways to approach answering this question.  For legendary weaponry, I’d take the dual Blades of Azzinoth any day.  There’s a ton of lore behind them, and I’m a huge fan of the Warcraft Books, so I’ve read pretty much everything I can about Illidan.  I might have to see if I can get some guildies to help me farm those out in Cataclysm. 

As for the weapons I think a Rogue should be using, hands down, I’d say daggers every time.  I mean no disrespect to my Combat brethren, but I’m of the opinion that Rogues should always be using daggers.  That being said, I understand why Blizzard had to design the class to be able to use more than one weapon type.  Still, nothing suits a Rogue better than a pair of daggers.  The idea of something sneaking up to you with two massive swords, axes or maces is kinda silly.  I can see fist weapons, but mechanically, they’re different from daggers, so either on or the other would have to be redesigned, and that would affect multiple classes.

I’m a fan of daggers to the point of saving every epic dagger that I’ve looted in Wrath in my bank.  When I get back to my WoW computer at home, I’ll probably start work on a new post about that.  I’d include it here, but trust me, the collection is getting quite large and it could use a post of its own.  Besides, I might want to do screenshots of each one, and that will take a while.

Despite my love for daggers, my favorite weapon of all time is not a dagger.  It’s a sword, Dragon’s Call, which drops from Shade of Eranikus in Sunken Temple.  This sword was my first epic, and I loved it.  I was being run through Sunken Temple and Blackrock Depths by my brother and a few guildies to help me get past the level 58 bump on my way to Outland when it dropped.  I’d never ever seen a Purple item drop, and despite some of the 70’s rolling on this weapon, I managed to win it.  Not only was this a significant weapon upgrade for me, but it procs a green dragon whelp to help you fight.  I replaced this quickly in Hellfire,  but it never has or ever will be deleted out of my bank.  I’ll probably never equip it again, but I doubt anything will ever replace it as my favorite.

Well, hopefully those answers will satisfy the muse.  I’m very thankful for Windsoar’s questions, as I wouldn’t have  posted  about this otherwise.  It certainly was fun to think and write about.

– Sam

12 Responses to The Muse Beckons

  1. repgrind says:

    I’ll be looking forward to that dagger collection post, Sam. As someone whose banks are chock full of stuff that I will never use again but am attached to, I always enjoy seeing what other people have hidden away in theirs. 🙂

  2. Gil C. says:

    Your link to Jaded Alt is broken. extra http:// at the front.

    I love the blog and as a new rogue have been eating up your archives. Please keep it up!!

  3. samueltempus says:

    Fixed, thanks 🙂

    – Sam

  4. Kaelynn says:

    All I can say to this is “me too!” I prefer Assassination and enjoyed its more complex rotation at the beginning of Wrath.

    I also love daggers – I leveled from 1-75 as Combat Daggers before realizing I would get made fun of. I switched to Mutilate because it would allow me to use my beloved daggers. I have one Warglaive that I got on a lucky drop from a retro raid a few months back. I would love to have the offhand as well (even though I don’t think Rogues should be using anything but daggers or fists from a lore standpoint).

  5. Windsoar says:

    Looks like I’m the only Sword lover in the room so far ^^ The only time I tried daggers (for a definite dps advantage… when I didn’t manage to get myself killed on my opener) I found myself standing outside the circle of dps bandaging more often that I liked hoping that my threat would decrease enough so I could run back in for that next backstab! Of course, I haven’t played my rogue since vanilla 😛

    Thanks so much for the wonderful post–I thoroughly enjoyed it!

  6. Squelchy says:

    I pretty much agree about the old Hunger for Blood. For raiding, that was by far my favorite spec. The current Mutilate spec/rotation is pretty close even so; though it’s simplistic, it gives me a chance to be more useful to my raid, as I have the mental cycles to make call-outs over Vent now.

    For PVP, Subtlety in BC Arenas was huge fun. Sure, I sucked at it, but the joy of popping right behind someone could not be beat. I actually haven’t had time to PVP since the new Subtlety changes dropped. I look forward to trying it again.

  7. Pingback: Weekly Wrap-Up: Storming the Citadel « Azure Shadows

  8. Sanomi says:

    I too prefer swords. For simple fact those epic swords looks cool ^^.
    My rogue is a gnome as well, and I enjoy seeing her with 2 big swords. The best is have those set pcs or un-equipt unique type.

    Absolute coolness! but being a gnmoe, a pair of daggers looks nice as well. Currently I am welding the Razor Sharp something daggers, the BOE 231 daggers from ICC dungeons. Lucky to have 2 of them now, looks awesome too.
    Dual welding must have snc’ed weapons!

  9. Ger says:

    I remember having such a blast levelling my rogue and then being frustrated at all the intricacies of DPSing in heroics. I tended to run with much better geared people so the mobs die fast and it was maddening to get 2 or 3 marks on a target then they get killed before I can get in a finishing move. My two mains are warrior tank and shaman healer so I honestly just need to put more work into rotations and not overly concern myself for being last in DPS when the other DPSers are so much better geared. I don’t have to be the best, but I do have to pull my weight because I can’t stand being carried.

    I prefer fist weapons because they are some of the coolest looking items in the game. My favorite weapons are the Phoenix fist weapons from Tempest Keep: the Eye.

  10. Pingback: Around Azeroth Lying wait - EFF Games

  11. Zeromaxx says:

    Totally agree that rogues should be more dagger-centric. I do not think they should be used exclusively in the assination tree. Maybe it is because you didn’t have the pleasure of playing in vanilla but I truly miss playing combat daggers. It felt right.

  12. Pingback: Weekly Wrap-Up: Storming the Citadel

Leave a Reply

