Being Valuable

Being a guild leader, I’ve seen my share of people come, and my share of people go.  I’ve had almost two years of experience at it, and reflecting on that, I thought I’d write a bit about the value and being valuable to a guild.  What makes one valuable?  Are you a follower, or are you a leader?  Can both be equally valued?  I would say yes.  You can’t have 25 leaders in a raid, and a leader cannot do much without people quality followers executing their instructions.

Being valuable isn’t necessarily about being the best at any one thing, just as it isn’t being good at all things.  To be valued, you simply need to be good at fulfilling a need.  Some needs are easier to fill than others.  Finding good tanks and healers for your raids is going to be harder than finding good DPS, because the number of DPS players is greater than the number of healers and tanks.  That’s why 10 man raids are balanced to have 1-2 tanks, 2-3 healers and 5-7 DPS players. 

Does this make the Tanks and healers more important (or valuable) to each raid?  Well, yes and no.  In the sense that it’s more difficult to find them, yes, they are more valuable.  However, the best tanks and healers aren’t responsible for beating enrage timers, so quality DPS players are just as valuable to your raid as your tanks and healers.  Today however, I’ll be discussing the value of individual guild members and the value they have to the guild.

If you’re still reading this, then I’ve either piqued your curiosity as to where I’m going here, you feel the need to become more valuable to your guild or perhaps you just like long monologues about things that don’t specifically deal with a pair of daggers stabbing a mob repeatedly in quick succession.  Whatever the case, the rest is past the jump.  Click at your own risk.

I won’t mention names, but there are several members of my guild that I find valuable.  Now, they and several other members of my guild will know who I’m talking about, but I always ask people before I post their name in the blog, and this post is more stream of conciousness / spur of the moment than planned.  Hopefully you’ll be able to take some of the following and make it useful to you.

The Healer

There’s a guy in my guild that is simply the best healer I’ve ever met.  Ever.  What’s more, he has an 80 of every healing class and is more than proficient at all of them.  Druid is his prefered healing class and along with The Mrs, people who follow directions in my 10 man raid simply don’t die.   Don’t think that’s all he can do either.  He’s also a great DPS player, and a tank when needed.  These are the qualities of a good player, but not necessarily a valuable one. 

What makes this individual valuable beyond his skill is his willingness to help when he can and his sense of humor.  This player is usually the first person to volunteer when help is asked for.  He rarely talks in vent, but be assured that when he does, it’s either really important or funny.  He has a really dry sense of humor, and because of him, the Argent Lance and Paper Zeppelin have been enshrined as Epic items to our guild.

The Druid

There’s another player in the guild, who happens to be a great Feral Druid player.  While he is a great player, and is welcomed in any of our groups for that aspect, that’s not why I consider him valuable.  He’s very vocal in both vent and guild chat, and that’s where he’s a great asset.  His sense of humor is a bit off the wall, and any comments he links in vent are definitely open at your own risk, but generally worth the look. 

Obviously this person is very outgoing, and that’s not everybody, but it works for him.  He’s a great player yes, but his personality is a far greater asset to the guild.  Being yourself is often better than being the pixels on the screen.  This person personifies that statement, even if he knows how to maul and shred your face too.

The Mages

Yeah, that’s plural.  I have two phenomenal DPS mages.  I grouped them as a unit because they’re usually found nuking things together.  They have two differing personalities, as they were born a world apart (literally) and a generation as well.  Yet, for as many ways as they are different, these two are quite similar. 

They both know their class inside and out and they understand many others as well.  They are both great leaders and excellent problem solvers.  They’d be valuable on the merit of their playing skill alone, but these two bring their other qualities to the table and that makes them even more valuable.  Oh, and one of them believes that Festergut is much harder than Rotface (inside joke; sue me).

The Farmer

There is a member of our guild who really seems to like farming.  To say that she loves to farm wouldn’t really be overstating it either.  This player is proficient on multiple classes, and has been a great raider when available. 

This person is willing to help anyone if she has the time and if she doesn’t know the answer to a question, she certainly knows where to find the answer.  She has access to every profession and can craft / gem / enchant just about anything, and is (shocker!)  happy to do it.  She’s valuable to the guild in many ways, but her best quality is embodied in all of them: she likes to help others.

– ~ –

The above list consists of 5 of my officers; all are quality players and people.  I could go on and on, but we’re reaching the 1,000th word and I’d like to keep the few of you interested that made it this far.  So Mr. Recruiting Guy, the Ex-Noob, the Lawyer and various others will have to wait for another post.  But believe me, they’re just as valuable to our guild as the rest.

As for me, I hope others see me as valuable.  I have two toons geared for ICC, and can DPS, Tank or Heal.  I have every profession leveled, and I’m closing in on my 7th 80.  Assuming I have the time, I don’t mind helping groups do instances and I’ll help out with any group quest that I don’t have to spend 20 minutes to get to.  All that being said, you don’t have to try to be me or anyone else to be valuable.  Be yourself and find a way that you can contribute to your guild.

And now what you’ve waited this far for, the point!

If you don’t feel like you fit in with the group of people you’re with, you’ve got two options.  You can either look for a new group of people, or you can figure out how to fit in with that group.  If you’re getting lost in the mix of your guild and not getting a raid spot, the easy thing to do is to leave and find somewhere else to go.  However, before you make a decision like that, ask yourself this question:

What have I done for my guild?

If the answer is “not a whole lot”  then maybe they’re not the root of the issue.  The best way to secure a raid spot in a guild is to be valuable, and as I previously stated, that’s not always achieved strictly through game play.  If you can figure out a way to fill a need for your guild, you can get your foot in the door.  That being said, if you’ve been doing these things, and there’s still no spot for you, I’d find a new guild that can appreciate what you have to offer.

What you have to offer is up to you, but generally these are the things that can do to be valuable to your guild:

  • Jump on offers to run instances with the guild
  • Be able to fulfil more than one role in a group
  • Be skilled at the roles you perform
  • Farm / craft needed items
  • Be vocal in Vent and guild chat, but be yourself

 I hinted at some of these things before, but it’s really important to understand this one point.  It is your job to make yourself useful to your guild, not your guild’s job to find a use for you.  I’ve seen quite a few people apply to Bucklers and stay less than two weeks complaining that no one did anything with them and that they weren’t invited to raid.  These very people are the ones who aren’t joining guild groups of instances or talking in chat, so no one really gets to know anything about them before they leave.  Bucklers is a very active guild, with numerous opportunities per day to join in a group of guildies and get yourself known quickly, so people who leave with the aforementioned complaint aren’t missed for long.

Well, that’s the end of a very long post.  If only one person gets something out of this, then it will be worth it.   Thanks to anyone who made it this far.  I’ve certainly cleared some things out of my brain that have been floating around for a while.

– Sam

6 Responses to Being Valuable

  1. chmelyk says:

    The Ex-noob? I don’t think Arch will appreciate that title. . .

  2. SpearXXI says:

    I recently formed a guild, so that I and fellow people can raid at midnight, which has been a slow start. However, I am slowly getting some strong people, and hope to build it up soon to be able to handle toc/icc.

  3. Asa says:

    Paolo had a complementary post the other day along the same lines.
    http://penancepriest.blogspot.com/2010/02/e-myth.html

  4. Banibaq says:

    The one point that I agree with the most is that one has to be willing to show the will to socialize with the (I assume) new guild. It can be through being present in vent or chat or by grouping up and doing things with your fellow guildies. Especially now, it is very easy to log in, get into a random dungeon, and log out w/o saying a word. But if you want to get known by your mates, asking for a group in guild chat goes a long way. Someone has an alt somewhere and if they good to know your playing style in heroics, chances are better that you’ll be remembered when it comes to filling up a raid.

    Having said all that, another way to be noticed is by getting a guildmate killed by horde, or having a foreign accent to serve as comic relief on vent…

  5. The Mrs says:

    I definately have to agree with the accent comment…very sexy 😀

  6. Pingback: Cataclsym Guild Changes (spoiler-free) «

Leave a Reply

