Have You Seen This Gnome?

I’m sure some of you have noticed a lack of posting as of late; sometimes life just gets in the way…

The biggest of my issues is that work blocked WordPress, and I used to get a fair bit of work done in my down time on the site.  It’s not like I just sat at work (hard to do as a teacher) and worked on the blog all day, but I did get some time every day where I could work on it.  Losing that meant having to make up that time somewhere else, and I’ve not figured out exactly where to put it quite yet.  It’s not like I’m unable to write posts at work and post them when I get home, but that’s time that I was using for other things.

What other things you ask?  My friend Tom and I write and record music together.  It’s something that we’ve dabbled in for years, but we finally got more serious about it this year, and set aside a couple of hours every Monday to record our music.  That doesn’t sound like a whole lot, but I spend more than those two hours on it every week.  I’m a bit of a perfectionist, and I’ll re-record a near perfect vocal part 10 times if I can get it perfect.  Also, I do all the mixing when Tom’s not here, so that’s even more time spent messing around with the music.  It’s a lot of fun, but very time consuming.

Anyway, I can find a million reasons why I haven’t been spending or had the time to work on the site, but I only need one to know that I should find some more time to work here too.  I love to write, enjoy to share and aspire to help when I can.  Don’t worry, I’ll have some time to get back into the swing of things this weekend, and I can get back to some sense of normalcy with posting.  I enjoy writing and the people I meet through this blog too much to let it stagnate for too long.

– Sam

10 Responses to Have You Seen This Gnome?

  1. Dinaer says:

    The school where I teach blocked my blog about a year ago. My posting schedule took a big hit after that. Now I tend to write posts on weekends and publish them later.

  2. Korzik says:

    That is something that I am sti figuring out, when and how to write posts.

    I’m sure you’ll figure something out that works well for you.

  3. Larslol says:

    My posts are more or less spontane when I come across something that inspires me. I’m also looking to have a few ready to post when I got nothing else to write about, I’ll try your way Dinaer.

    GL to you aswell Sam!

  4. Kit says:

    We miss you Sam! But meh, ’til 3.3 drops what is there to write about?

  5. Greg says:

    I found this blog when I was googling images to use for a project in Computer Science (they block most of the sites, but apparently, this one isn’t considered to be about games) and I am now a frequent visiter. This is the place I go for my rogue tips. Thanks Sam!
    (yes i know it has nothing to do with the post, but it was the closest place to comment, so it took it)

  6. I had noticed your absence. I’m glad it is due to nothing too serious. I enjoy reading your blog and look forward to your next post.

  7. Hinenuitepo says:

    No worries, mate!
    Especially pre-3.3, there’s been lots of stuff going on.

    As far as the work thing, I hear you. I tend to have quite a bit of in-between time, but work blocked blogspot for a while (seems I can get it again this week).

    Good luck with real and virtual adventures!

  8. Matotodo says:

    Proxy dot org

  9. Malseth says:

    You could try pre-typing your posts at work on Word, save them to a thumb drive, then copy and paste the post when at home into the blog. I would imagine there might be formatting issues though.

Leave a Reply

