Gnomestock Recap and Photos

I won’t say a lot in this post, but I had a great time, and for my first in-game event, I was pleased with the success.  I learned what to do, and more importantly what not to do for next year.  That’s right, I’ve got a whole year to think about how to make Gnomestock 2010 even better than its ’09 counterpart.

Recap:

The Not-so Gnaked Gnome Race was won by Hungtolow.  About three people managed to get to Ironforge at the same time but this gnome in particular was the first to make it to me.  Apparently this particular individual was quite the crafty fellow too, as he technically won the Hide and Seek type event as well.  More on that in a minute

The Happy Fun Rock toss in Ironforge was neat, but we decided to cut it short and get to the zeppelin toss.  A participant sent in a video of the zeppelins rolling into the starting zone that I’ll post later.  That last event would end up being my undoing in the giant sized game of hide and seek I had planned…

I was giving out clues to my location for about 3 minutes into the search when paper zeppelin caught up to me, followed immediately by Hungtolow.  We decided while incredibly genius, we’d let the second arrival take the prize (exactly the same as the prize from the first event).  That gnome would be Filchee, who showed up a few minutes later.

After we took a trip to Theramore for a great pirates vs. ninjas photo we called the event a day by sending the gnomes to all the corners of the game world, a group of 17 stuck together and downed Hogger.  I was already getting ready to run a heroic with some people from the guild, but I lived it vicariously through whispers and vent.

Anyway, if you went, thanks a ton to all who came.  I have to admit that the whole thing was getting me nervous, and I breathed a sigh of relief when it was over and the screenshots came pouring in.  If you’ve never hosted an event like this, you’ve really no idea how much prep it takes behind the scenes / ability to adapt on the fly.  As a way of thanking you, I’d like to allow anyone who’s interested to join our ranks to level your gnome.  Shenanigans like Gnomestock are pretty normal around here, so expect more of the same.

And now for the photos…

I have a ton of Gnomestock Photos, and I plan to post more, especially the lost gnome photos.  Enjoy.

– Sam

Getting Ready:

Filchee1

stocktime

The Race:

Alyssa

Gnomes in Ironforge:

Tango2

Tango1

Setting up for the zeppelins:

Tango3

Gnomestock Pirates vs Ninjas:

boat

Gnomes in Shattrath after the portal game:

Chmelyk

Taking out Hogger with 17 Gnomes:

Revix

20 Responses to Gnomestock Recap and Photos

  1. TJ says:

    You used a couple of my screenshots, awesome 🙂

    It was great fun Sam, we should definitely do it again next year.

    Also, I think you did a fine job of organizing everything, it all seemed to flow well without any problems

  2. Eiramamme says:

    Looks like I missed out on some fun. I’ll be heading over next year to partake in some fun. Even if gnomes aren’t a race I like to play.

  3. samueltempus says:

    Make you a deal,

    you put together something horde side, and I’ll be there.

    – Sam

  4. Mac, THE paladin tank. says:

    Indeed it was fun.
    Though I notice a distinct lack of my 1337 guitar skills in your post.
    I feel slightly offended.

  5. Eiramamme says:

    Whoa..Whoa there. After reading all the prep work into this I’m not so sure I could pull something off like this. Then again, maybe I’ll think about it. yeah thought about no thanks. 🙂

  6. Revix says:

    awwww, where’s the pic you said looked like a LoLcat pic?

  7. samueltempus says:

    That’s a lost gnomes post. I’ll get there.

    – Sam

  8. Wraithstrike says:

    Sorry I missed it Sam, I got called away to Atlanta. Oh well, glad to hear it was a success.

    /cheers mate

  9. samueltempus says:

    Ah, Atlanta. Halfway underwater at the moment. Fortunately, I live on higher ground somewhere in the metro area. I’m pretty dry here.

    – Sam

  10. repgrind says:

    Ok, so I’m a couple days late replying here. I got a bit distracted with my power leveling marathon.

    Sam, that was an awesome good time. When the realms come back up, my silly gnome would love to hang out with you guys once in awhile. Heck, maybe I’ll just level him in BGs. If you knew how many times I’ve been ganked by gnome rogues in my life ….

  11. Wraithstrike says:

    You’re from Georgia Sam?
    One question: Tech or Dawgs?

  12. samueltempus says:

    I have a Degree from UGA, and marched in the band for 5 years. I bleed Red and Black. Have plenty of friends who went to Tech tho.

    – Sam

  13. repgrind says:

    Oh yay, another band geek! I marched at the University of Nebraska.

  14. samueltempus says:

    Small world. Saxophone is my major instrument.

    – Sam

  15. repgrind says:

    Ha ha, that’s awesome. I haven’t played in years, though. Sad, isn’t it? Especially since I started out as a music major. I ended up eventually getting a degree in history though. Too bad being a mage doesn’t count as a profession. >.<

  16. Lightningrod says:

    GOOOO JACKETS!!!!!

  17. Revix says:

    GET TO THAT PIC FASTER, or just email it to me as a sneak peek, I wanna see LOLGNOME pictures.

  18. Pingback: Server Hopping Again « Reputation Grind

Leave a Reply

