Preparations Are Almost Complete

It’s almost that time.  Less that 24 hours before Gnomestock ’09

I’ve spent the last hour inviting anyone who logged on a day early to go ahead and join the event guild.  I’ve got enough cloth and shirts to cover several 40 man raids, and we’ll be buying the tabards as needed tomorrow.  It was really cool to chat with fellow blogger Repgrind for a short time this evening, and it seemed she was equally happy to meet Revix, a fellow Bucklers of Swash blogger.

Here’s the finalized information (minus the specifics of the race)

Not So Gnaked Gnome Race

You must be level 1 at the start of the event.  Prior to the race, you will receive a tabard, shirt and an invite to one of the raid groups.  The specifics of the “twist” to this race and the route will be announced in game and on this website 10 minutes prior to the start of Gnomestock.  Your final destination will be Ironforge, but a straight path there isn’t what I have in mind.  I’ll have some people stationed to make sure that it’s no one elses’ either.  Upon your arrival in Ironforge, seek out the Rogue Trainer.  I’ll be standing in front of the building.  The first person to make it to me and follow the instructions (again…wait until tomorrow) will win the event.

The winner of the event will receive both a Slashdance loot card and some fun items for your event character (don’t ask me, it was The Mrs. Idea).

Happy Fun Times in Ironforge

When I asked for suggestions for an innovative in game event, someone suggested a long chain of players tossing a Happy Fun Rock around.  Well, we’re going to take that idea and run with it.  A chain of Gnomes around the outer circle of Ironforge tossing many Happy Fun Rocks around.  Admittedly, it’s an event that no one can win, but the screenshots should be great fun.

Gnomish Restart – The Great Paper Zeppelin Chase

The Gnomes are going to head back to the starting zone for the final event, and to get there, we’re going to have people run back to the starting zone with a Paper Zeppelin chasing you the whole time.  Again, not an event you can win, but hysterical, fun and very screenshot worthy at the same time.  Basically, members of Bucklers will throw the Zeppelins at you , and you’ll run in a a circle and throw it back to them.  Then you’ll take off for the starting zone, and as long as the Zeppelin doesn’t catch you, it should follow you all the way there (even though you threw it back).  Our resident Pro Zeppelin chaser, Stalkuren, will show you the ropes before we go.  Btw, If you haven’t tried this inside the Argent Coliseum or the Observation Ring in Ulduar, you’re missing out.

Where in Dun Murogh is Samueltempus?

After everyone’s Safely back in the starting zone, I’m going to go off the radar, and hide somewhere in Dun Morogh.  I’ll be stealthed, and it will not be easy, but the first person to find me wins.  I realize that with size of the zone and the level gap, you’d have to be right on top of me to find me, so every few minutes, a hint will be distributed through the raid leaders as to my position (which they won’t know either).  The winner of this event will get the same prize pack as the winner of the Race (The Slashdance loot card, and whatever it is that the Mrs. decides on)

The Photo Op

We’ll be porting all of the gnomes to a “location” and distributing Savory Deviate Delights in honor of Pirate’s Day.  We’ll take a few huge Pirates vs. Ninjas screenshots, and then it’s time for the closing event, a Bucklers of Swash tradition known as:

The Portal Game

We’ll have a mage drop portals to the major cities on top of each other.  Where you’ll go, no one knows, but I can’t think of a better way to end Gnomestock than to send everyone off to get lost somewhere random.  I can’t wait to see the screenshots people can come up with.  I’ll be posting a few lost gnome pics a few days after the event.

And, there you have it, that’s Gnomestock in a nutshell.  Send all of your screenshots to samueltempus@aol.com, and I promise some great followup content about the event.  I hope to see everyone tomorrow.

– Sam

5 Responses to Preparations Are Almost Complete

  1. Chmelyk says:

    EPIC EPIC EPIC…Can’t wait almost wants to make me participate but im gonna be helping out where ever needed to make sure it all runs smoothly. Hope you guys have plenty of fun going through the hoops Bucklers of Swash have planned for you.

  2. Pingback: YARRRRR…… lame « What is a Revix?

  3. repgrind says:

    I heard it through the grapevine that repgrind may actually be a she.
    That was totally cool getting to hang out last night! Looking forward to tonight. I took a long nap this afternoon so as long as my cold meds hold out, I’m in.

  4. samueltempus says:

    really. I’ll have to keep that in mind 🙂

    – Sam

  5. Typeapeby says:

    Authentic words, some truthful words dude. You made my day.

Leave a Reply

