What Would You Do?

I’ve been toying with the idea of hosting an “event” on my server for any and all interested.  I’m not sure what sort of Shenanigans I’d like to try, but I have a few ideas.  I’d really like to do something fairly original, and have a blast with everyone who comes.

I like the idea of a gnaked gnome race, a raid on hogger, or a scavenger hunt, but they’ve all been done several times before.  I’d suggest a first to level 10 race, but I’m fairly sure Recruit-a-Friend would ruin that one.  So basically, I’m stuck, as I mentioned earlier, trying to think of something original.

I’m sure the Bucklers of Swash will help with the planning and execution of the event, but I’m going to need some help from you to decide exactly what type of event we should host.  So, if you’ve got any ideas, leave a comment, or send me a mail.  I’d love to do the event sometime in September.

– Sam

26 Responses to What Would You Do?

  1. Maker says:

    I’m not sure if my guildies went through with this plan, but they had amassed a huge amount of flares and were planning on carpeting all of Dalaran in smoke flares of various colours.

  2. samueltempus says:

    Wow; I’m pretty sure that would crash the server. lol.

    – Sam

  3. Kit says:

    Server crashing is always a concern with an event (think BRK and the Run for Ezra). I’m not sure if there’s anything original-original to do, but how about a combo? Like a L1 gnaked gnome Crossroads raid? Tram to SW, boat to Auberdine, then die a lot getting to the Barrens . . .

  4. Thimble says:

    How about setting up an insanely long chain of players to throw a [Happy Fun Ball] from Stormwind to, say, the Dark Portal? Or probably somewhere much closer, since it wouldn’t be easy to get a chain that long. Ironforge to Gnomeregan? Something along those lines. Each player tosses it to the next all the way there. I’m not really sure what you’d be accomplishing, but it could be pretty amusing. Of course, you risk someone “Taking their ball and going home”, but a couple of backup balls could take care of that.

  5. repgrind says:

    I have no suggestion, other than … make it something that level 1s can participate in, so that people not from your server (like me!) can join in the fun 😀

    Now, which one of the 50 toons can I delete to make room for one more event toon … >.>

  6. samueltempus says:

    Rep,

    Definately something for level 1’s. I want as many people who can to be able to come. I don’t personally have 50 toons yet, I’m at around 20, but I will be running admin for the event on Sam, as I do have 10 on my server.

    – Sam

  7. SpearXXI says:

    You should make up a high enough lvl to know backstab, and require them to be gnome rogues. Then get a TON of them to go “ganking” Tarren Mill or something. Just think about a ton of low level gnomes bursting out of the shadows backstabbing people…. just a thought…

  8. Zornn says:

    @ Spear

    I laughed out loud in real life.

  9. SpearXXI says:

    @ Zornn
    8)
    Yeah, it would be epic. Just think of a group 40 lvl 4 or 6 (whenever you get backstab) gnome rogues popping out of the shadows at Tarrin Mill, or wherever. Um, you can also get a warlock friend to port everyone to Southshore to do it. lol

  10. samueltempus says:

    Sam = Party Pooper

    The mobs and the Guards (plus the lack of populace) would make Tauren Hill a difficult task. If it were possible, it would be cool. I’ll at least run it by the “comittee” that will help me finalize plans.

    – Sam

  11. Mog says:

    The mass amounts of flares in Dalaran was done on my server. It crashed Dalaran, noone could log in in the city. The perpetraitors were then banned by GMs for causing undue strain on the servers.

    I do like the mob of rogues trying to gank horde villages. too bad druids dont get kitty til double digits.

    Do a giant game of snake in a cap city with all gnaked gnomes. Have each person set to follow the one in front with you in lead, and then snake the chain all over and try to not to get any stuck. Lead them to kamikaze runs into horde cap cities. Give a prize the last one alive or furthest in the city, like grand prize to make it to thrall, etc.

  12. Wil says:

    Have all your level 1s get to one location and have a port to Dalaran set up for them. Have them port to the ground and then have a naked gnome race from Crystalsong to a preset location.
    Don’t know if that one has been done before in Northrend.

  13. Wil says:

    Get all of your level one gnomes ported to Dalaran. Then port to the ground and naked gnome race to a preset Northrend location. I’ve ever heard of a level 1 Northrend Naked Gnome Race taking place.

  14. Wraithstrike says:

    First of all, Im a rogue on your server and I your site is great, read it all the time.

    How about a PVP contest in the Gurabashi Arena? a prize for the winner..gold or like an orb of deception or something..

    If you help look me up…my guild is the Ravens.

  15. samueltempus says:

    Wraith,

    I’m almost positive that I’ve run into you on a number of occasions. a /cheer awaits the next time I find you. Just as an aside, back in classic, my brother was a member of the Ravens on his rogue, Evanmac.

    – Sam

  16. Wraithstrike says:

    A /cheer to you as well ;0)

    I remember Evan but it’s been awhile since he was with us. In any case, great site and hope to see you around.

  17. Kit says:

    With some high-level support to handle the guards, you could do a level-4 rogue gankfest in the Den . . .

  18. bleanord says:

    back in the day, bad days when i went alliance, me and some guildies rolled alts- mainly nelf, some guys rolled gnomes then we all met up in the nelf startin (no idea how the gnomes got there) area till we were 10.
    Can’t remember why but we decided we needed to go to IF/SW to do BG’s in our greens/whites. We had a insane run through wetlands “keep running leave him behind” was on macro. When we finally hit IF straight in a WSG- the horde had “LOL” on macro- we got hammered badly

  19. Nezoka says:

    I must say that your site is excellent, as a rogue who has taken time off from playing in a pve environment it has helped me get back into the groove of doing good damage in raids.

    I use to be on a pvp server long ago, and Wraith’s idea of a pvp event is great. I ran a pvp contest in the Arena outside Dire Maul, mainly due to it being so out of the way that the alliance(I play Horde) wouldn’t come and ruin the fun. Another idea is to do some kind of RP style event, in my experience even on pvp servers, you have a few who do enjoy RP.

  20. samueltempus says:

    Thanks, Nezoka.

    I plan on running a PvP themed event at some point, but unfortunately only people with established toons on the server would be able to really participite. Again, it’s something that I look to do in the future, but for now, I want to run something that everyone can take part in.

    When I do run the PvP event in the future, I’d love some help from people like yourself (and Wraith) in planning and running the event.

    – Sam

  21. Wraithstrike says:

    sounds like fun, let me know if I can help out .

    Here’s an Idea…..How about Parachute races from the Twin Colosusses?

    or

    get people to Duo Onyxia -fastest team gets a prize.

  22. samueltempus says:

    Those sounds great for all of us with 80’s on the server. I think I’ll run something like that after I finish this event. Perhaps you could help me with the admin / running it.

    Also, I mentioned your name to my brother, and he definately remembers you as well. We should all group up and do something together at some point. Unfortunately his Rogue is stuck at either 74 or 75 at the moment. He’s a Paladin tank these days.

    – Sam

  23. Wraithstrike says:

    Be glad to run with you or your brother. You can usually find me on my rogue or my DK alt (yes I got a DK like everyone else) Wraithblade.

  24. samueltempus says:

    I figured that was you. I /waved at you the other day.

    – Sam

  25. Wraithstrike says:

    Damn…sorry I missed it….you gnomes are hard to see ;0)

  26. Pingback: ATTN: Gnomes, Rogues, Anybody « What is a Revix?

Leave a Reply

