Epic Payment

RL story from the weekend.  I thought some of you might find this amusing.

It’s Saturday, and lunchtime when the Mrs. decides that Chic-Fil-A would be an acceptable meal.  So, I hop in my car, and call my Sister to congratulate her on her new TA position at the University of Kentucky, and talk to her until I have to order my food.  I order, and reach into my back pocket and…

No wallet.

/facepalm

I’m literally going to have to pay $10.90 in about 30 seconds, and I’m driving without a licence.  It’s good to be me.  So, I contemplate leaving the drive thru and going home.

Then, in a brief moment of genius, I open the glove compartment, where I remember I had stashed 2 $2 bills.  Well, that’s $4 down.  Next, I raided my armrest and located the 5 $1 coins from last summer’s trip to NY (gotta love all the tolls).  I also scavenged 7 Quarters, a Nickel and two Dimes while I was in there, totaling, $10.90.

Let’s recap.  Here’s what I payed with:

  • Two $2 bills
  • Five $1 coins
  • Seven Quarters
  • Two Dimes
  • One Nickel

That might be the most random assortment of money I’ve ever paid for anything with.  Be glad I didn’t have any half dollars, the Space-Time Continuum might have collapsed if I did.

– Sam

Btw, The look I got from the girl at the window was priceless.

19 Responses to Epic Payment

  1. Thimble says:

    That’s fantastic.

    I’m not one to give a guy a hard time about spelling, but when I looked to see if “Nickle” actually was anything, here’s what the dictionary said:

    Nickle Nic”kle, n. (Zool.)
    The European woodpecker, or yaffle; — called also nicker
    pecker.

    I’d like to believe you included one of those in your payment as well.

    (“Nickel” is what you were looking for)

  2. samueltempus says:

    Lol. That’s what I get for using spell check to proof, instead of my eyes. You’d be surprised how many legitimate words you can spell by switching two letters. Believe me, it’s a typing issue; I’m much more accurate on paper. Anyway, fixed.

    – Sam

  3. Wil says:

    I never questioned that you might be buying Chic-Fil-A with European Woodpecker being part of the deal Sam.
    I take it from your sister being at UK you may also live in the south, and we southerners know that you cannot buy Chic-Fil-A with a woodpecker.
    At the very least you would have to barter with a hog or possibly a pint of moonshine to get Chic-Fil-A. 🙂

  4. RJK says:

    I work in utilities and sometimes on “disconect day” you see coin collections being used as payment….what people will do to keep the lights on.

    😉

  5. Hamacus says:

    Hey…whatever works..funny how things work out sometimes. Love stuff like that.

  6. samueltempus says:

    Wil,

    I’m orginally from Mississippi, but I’ve lived in the Atlanta Area since I was 10 (just under 20 years ago). Needless to say, I’m fairly well aquainted with Chic-Fil-A, as they are headquartered here. The Mrs. is beyond addicted. Need I say more?

    – Sam

  7. Wil says:

    I can understand her addiction, they are hard to beat. We have a free standing one here where I live in WV.
    The price however is enough to keep the addiction in check.
    😉

  8. Thimble says:

    Chick-Fil-A taught me that while a breakfast of a “chicken biscuit” doesn’t really sound appealing in any way, it’s in fact one of the finest forms a breakfast can take.

  9. samueltempus says:

    Indeed. I should mention that there’s one on the way to the Mrs. work. I wish I could be so lucky.

    – Sam

  10. Kit says:

    No screenie of the drive-thru girl’s look? 😦

  11. samueltempus says:

    I’m sure popping out the iPhone for a photo op would have gone over well…

    – Sam

  12. Mog says:

    Somewhat surprised the girl knew that $2 bills were legal tender. There was a news article here recently about how this cashier called the cops on a customer for paying in fake money, customer paid using $2 bills. and yes, it was at a WalMart.

  13. samueltempus says:

    wow… The worst thing is, I’m not surprised.

    – Sam

  14. Armagon says:

    The real WTF is that you Americans aren’t used to this. In central Europe we’re paying in this assortment of coins and small billls on a daily basis.

    A lot of shops don’t even allow any card payments below 5/10 EUR 😛

  15. samueltempus says:

    “A lot of shops don’t even allow any card paymebts below 5 /10 EUR”

    I’m not surprised, since the card companies get $$$ from the merchant everytime someone uses a card to purchase something. While I’m a card user most of the time (rewards, rewards, rewards), I certainly am not opposed to the idea of using change to pay for anything, as they certanly last longer than the printed variety.

    Anyway, I was saving the $2 bills, becuase they’re such a rarity. Oh well…

    – Sam

  16. SpearXXI says:

    @ Sam
    If you go to the bank you can request 2 dollar bills.

  17. samueltempus says:

    Spear,

    That’s cheating.

    – Sam

  18. rob says:

    That assortment of change actually adds up to $11, not $10.90. You should have gotten change back. lol

  19. samueltempus says:

    LOL. Maybe there wasn’t a Nickel at all! I know I paid exact change. that’s histarical that it took someone this long to find it.

    – Sam

Leave a Reply

