Combat or Assassination? Final Thoughts

I had a ton of fun on Friday, when I finally got to take Sam to a complete Naxx 25.  In addition to swiping up some good gear, I kept a recount up for the whole raid to see how my damage stacked up, and what Combat could do in a raid situation.   The numbers were quite interesting:

naxxdps

I didn’t post this meter to brag; I only do that with people I know, because they would care.  I posted it to show how much damage a moderately well geared combat rogue can do.   Also, if you read this blog regularly, you know that I do almost all of my progression healing or tanking on Anabelle, my Paladin.  Posting this meter silences the part of me that says, “you’re playing your Paladin, so who gives you the right to talk about Rogues?”  Friday night I was reassured that I do know what I’m talking about.  That’s enough of my “self assurance,” let’s get on with the discussion.

The Rogue at position 5 is similarly geared, and Assassination spec.  I don’t personally know them, so I can’t vouch for their rotation, but around 5 was where they were the whole night.  The Rogue at 6 is someone I know, and they joined the raid after our first boss, Razuvious, right before we pulled Gothik.  I ran a webstats, and he was second to  me from the point he started the raid.  He is also Combat and similarly geared.  We fought for first and second on every boss, and on more than one occasion less than 10,000 damage seperated us at the end of the fight.

Comparing two or even three different Rogues is, at best, an inaccurate gauge of how to spec.  However, at the end of the day, the question is still:

 Combat  combfinal 

or

assnfinal  Assassination? 

As you can see, both of these parses are within the margin of error.  The total damage output (8 minute parse) for both specs was within 3k  overall damage; I’d say that it’s not only statistically significant, but it proves that on a single target, one is not necessarily better than the other.  There are fights that will favor one over the other, but generally, on a boss, you shouldn’t be gimping your raid either way. 

What I’m getting at, is you should play the spec you prefer.  If you want to maximize your DPS, go with the spec that matches your best weaponry.  I finally decided on Combat as my main spec.  I feel like I’m more effective on trash, and my fists are slightly better than my daggers.  If you’re in a different boat, spec differently, and don’t be afraid to experiment.  It’s entirely possible your gear, play ability, and content may be better suited for Assassination.

Oh, and don’t worry, I’ve taken up the Mutilate / Prep spec for arenas, so I’m still (kinda) playing Assassination.  Other than dalies and farming, that’s what I’m going to be spending most of my time on Sam doing.  I’ll still raid when I get the opportunity, so don’t expect me to stop posting about PvE Roguery any time soon.

– Sam

 

9 Responses to Combat or Assassination? Final Thoughts

  1. Toxicwaste says:

    What combat rotation are you using? I specced combat briefly as I had a good fist drop but I just couldn’t get any rhythm going.

  2. samueltempus says:

    It’s more a priority list than anything at this point. SnD > Rupture > Envenom. Pop Killing Spree, Blade Flurry, and Adrenaline Rush when available. What it usually works out to is:

    SS-> SnD -> SS -> 5cp Rup – SS-> Snd -> SS -> 5cp Evisc

    1 combo point slice and dice is generally enough to get 5 sinisters off. In fact, with adrenaline rush, its enough to get off a 5pt Rupture and Eviscerate.

    It does take practice, but it can be done.

    – Sam

  3. goldsnake says:

    hay i have gesst goten some very good gear from naxx tuns but when i went to ulaudar i was pulling crap dps so the next day i swiched my rotashon around a little for my assasin rogue so the next day i was pulling 2.5k dps then the next day crap a gean and i swixhed out a blue helm for a hatefull helm and a ring ans a trinked and i was gest wundering if u can send me a pick of the spec points that u pit in an assasin rogue and or for a combat rogue with a rotashon? thank u for your time.

  4. Crytz says:

    I’ve had the worse luck with daggers. Every time one drops I lose to someone and thats if they even drop to begin with. But lucky for me I guess is I have great combat weapons so I’m not doing to bad overall pulling 5k dps =). Just wish I could try out mutilate already at the very least for pvp, sooner or later I guess.

    Crytz – Smolderthorn server

  5. Bman says:

    Thanks for the info, Im currently 60, and combat spec full atm. I played private servers before, and I had a much better feel (as far as pvp) with mut/prep, but as stated, it is not so good for lvling. You have reassured me of my thoughts, Thanks.

  6. Mario says:

    Hello, I was just wondering do you still use combat as your main spec now?

  7. pedz says:

    so wat are tha epic gem to put and whats the hit rating cap

  8. pedz says:

    so wat are the epic gem to used

  9. K.Foss says:

    Could you please tell me what is a good rotation for arena I play assassination, thanks.

Leave a Reply

