Power Auras: Setup and Use for Assassination

Power Auras is a customizable addon that allows you to add auras, timers, etc. to  your UI so that you know what’s going on with your rotation, cooldowns, and just about anything else you can think of.  For Samuel, I use it to tell me 3 things:

  1. If I need to reapply poisons
  2. A timer for Hunger for Blood
  3. A timer for Slice and Dice

poisonauraThis is what my Poison Aura looks like.  If I see this pulsing around Sam it means that I no longer have Deadly Poison on my off hand weapon.  Since I always apply my poison to my main hand first, this aura lets me know that I need to reapply.  I currently have it set up so that it’s on under any circumstances, but if that doesn’t work for you there is a way to set it up so that it only shows when in combat.

timersAs for Slice and Dice and Hunger for Blood, I have it set up to flash the icon on screen with a timer underneath, just like this picture.  If you set it up the way I have it, there will always be a black background to the timers, so you don’t have to worry about the scenery interfering with the view of the numbers. 

Today I’m going to show you how to set up this addon to use it as I do, and hopefully this will help anyone who is having trouble keeping the rotation up.

I’m going to walk you through the setup of Power Auras, so that your screen will have the same information as mine does.  Tweak away after that if you wish.

First step; log in and type /powa

This should bring up the following menu:

powmain1 This is the main window for Power Auras.  This window contains the main functions of the addon, and allows you to turn specific auras on and off, test your auras, and create new auras, among other things.

Note that the icons you see on my setup won’t match yours until you actually use your created macros.  The program will automatically grab the icons the first time the aura is triggered.

Also, note that you can create Character effects, which only trigger on the toon you write them on, and Global effects that will trigger on any characters which you have the  Power Auras addon installed.

You’re ready to create some auras now, so click the new button If you don’t see a new window, it’s underneath the one that’s already open.  If you’ll follow the setup I’ve laid out.

 

–  Poison Aura Setup  –

These two pictures show the proper setup for the poison aura I use. They can be clicked on to be enlarged. This aura, will place a green aura around you to remind you when you don’t have a deadly poison on your off hand. It can be annoying when you’re not actually doing anything related to combat, such as farming. If that’s the case, you can either disable this option, or only select the only in combat option:

powpois1

powpois2

 

–  Hunger for Blood Timer  –

This will hook you up with a Pulsing Hunger of Blood icon with a timer underneath it.  The settings are slightly more complicated:

powhung1

powhung2

powhung3

 

–  Slice and Dice Timer  –

This is just like the Hunger for Blood timer, so without further ado:

powsad1

powsad2

powsad3

I hope that some of you find this addon and information useful.  If it helps your DPS, make sure to let me know.  I always like to hear that people are doing well.

– Sam

7 Responses to Power Auras: Setup and Use for Assassination

  1. Sulkh says:

    Wow, cool way of setting up this addon, I’d been playign around with it for a while for debuffs but hadn’t found a good way of displaying SnD and HfB timers.

    Thanks a lot for this

  2. azande says:

    You might be interested in this post http://combatmace.blogspot.com/2008/06/rogue-powa-auras-and-making-movies-from.html from an old Rogue blog (now rerolled shaman) that shows how to use PA for combo points.

  3. samueltempus says:

    Thank you!

    I’ve been looking for a good way to incorporate combo points into Power Auras, and haven’t been able to get it to work quite right.

    – Sam

  4. Caliginous says:

    I don’t get it. I’ve looked at this and then looked at Power Auras 100 times, but I still don’t understand how that black background is created behind your timers. I really, really wish I understood how to make my timers look like that… 😦

  5. samueltempus says:

    Turn off the glow function. That should do it.

    – Sam

  6. Caliginous says:

    Nice! That did it. I had to change up all my textures (and they don’t look as good as they did) but at least I can see the timers at all times now. I’ll take it. 😉 Thanks for the help.

  7. Pingback: Power Auras guide - The Warlocks Den - WoW Warlock Discussions

Leave a Reply

