Things to do before tomorrow’s patch

With patch 3.0.2 hitting tomorrow, there’s a short list of things that I, and I imagine many other people, need to get accomplished to make the transition as smooth as possible:

1.)  Addons

Tomorrow is going to break your UI.  It’s as simple as that.  I’m fortunate enough to have a beta key, so I know some things that have already been patched, and I can load them up for tomorrow:  Perl (or X-Perl), Outfitter, and Recount being the most notable.  If you use FuBar, it does work with the beta, but some of the modules are borked, although QuestFu is already working, and that’s all I really cared about in beta.

2. Specs

Again having the beta has put me at an advantage here, as I’ve tried a few things already.  I know a good combat spec for my rogue, though I’d like to break out the daggers and see what I can do with the other two specs.  I’ll be going 51/10/0 on my hunter and picking up another core hound, gorilla, and worm.  As for the Paladin, I’m going to level Ret in the Expansion, though I’ll be a tank at level 80.  I’m really looking forward to trying out my spec in Karazhan, and see if I can offtank and DPS as Ret.

3. Inscription

If you read this site regularly, you know that my main goal tomorrow is to level inscription.  I already had more than enough herbs to level it comfortably, but while I was on the beta this week, my wife farmed up another 1000+ herbs for me to use to level.  I’ll either use them to stockpile inks for later, or they’ll become AH fodder either as herbs, pigments, or inks.  As for prep, I need to get everything organized so that I only have to make 1 trip or so back and forth from Honor Hold to Shattrath.

-Sam

Leave a Reply

