Useful Macros & Tools to Make Your Own

I enjoy creating macros for my toons. I don’t use them to automate combat rotations, but I do use them to make certain tasks easier. If you are unfamiliar with macros, typing /m in chat will bring up the screen to create and edit one. Give your macro a name and pick an icon, and then you can add the code to it. In this post I will use some of the macros I use to give you an idea of how I use them to make life easier.

Rogue Macros

Pick Pocket – Opener

I use this macro to cast pick pocket whenever I use a cheapshot. It’s a good example of using a macro to turn two button presses into one. You can use it with any opening move by changing Cheap Shot to something else like Ambush:

/cast Pick Pocket
/stopcasting
/cast Cheap Shot

Hunter Macros

My hunter macros come from my favorite wow blog BigRedKitty.net. So I have to give BRK his props before I mention them. He has others there you should check out.

Pet Attack / Hunter’s Mark

Granted, my hunter is a lowbie, but I use macros with him for the same reason I do with my rogue, to make common tasks I use together reruire only 1 button press:

/petattack
/cast Hunter’s Mark

Obviously this sends my pet to attack the given target, and places a Hunter’s Mark on the target.

Pullshot macro

This will keep you from breaking your own traps! Use the exact spacing or you will regret it:

/cast Arcane Shot(Rank 1)
/stopcasting

This will cast a low threat Arcane Shot that will bring the target your way. More important, though, is the fact that it will turn off your autoshot.

All Classes

Assist Macro(s)

If you get tired of clicking or tab targeting to find a target, this macro will allow you to pick another party member, or a pet:

/assist (pet, party member name)

If you want to take this a step further use multiple macros:

Focus macro

/focus
/clearfocus [modifier:shift]

This will allow you to mouse over a target (party member, pet, etc) and make it your focus. If you click the button while holding shift, it will clear your focus target.

Assist focus

/assist focus

Karazhan Specific Macros

Curator and the Curse of Doom!

This button will place a raid warning up to remind your warlock that they need to cast curse of doom. All you have to do is press the button when he’s about a minute from evocating:

/rw CURSE OF DOOM!

Illhoof’s Demon Chains Macro

This will instantly target the demon chains when pressed and send a friendly reminder that the dps should be on the chains:

/target demo
/rw DPS DEMON CHAINS

Ventrillo info macro

This will send your vent information to your raid, or with the help of the shift key, your party. Just replace the ventserver, port, and password with your information:

/raid ventserver, port, password
/p ventserver, port, password [modifier:shift]

This is just some ideas of how basic macros work and what you can use them for. If you want more detailed information, go to priestly endavors, as he did a whole series on macro writing.

Leave a Reply

